Dreams Come True: Episode 1

Prologue: this is a flasback blog from a few years ago. However, I felt it was only right to publish this as my first post since it was, indeed, my first ever blog writing attempt.

Dreams Come True

by Sarah Rucker

Not only is it the name of a record by Lou Ann Barton, Marcia Ball and Angela Strehli (1990, Antone’s Records,) but it’s my motto these days. In the Fall of 2009 my dream of meeting the great blues and R&B artist Barbara Lynn came true.

As a bit of background information on why this was one of my dreams, I grew up listening to the music of my parents’ childhood and teenage years: Otis Redding, Wilson Pickett, Sam & Dave, the Ronettes, and many other greats of the ‘50s and ‘60s. Flash forward to 2004 when I was attending UT-Austin and decided to enroll in the one elective that didn’t count toward my degree plan: Blues and Social Change taught by the late blues club owner, Clifford Antone. It wasn’t until taking this class that I realized exactly what I wanted to do “when I grew up” – help promote musicians and artists that deserve to be known world wide. I went on to become an assistant to Mr. Antone, helping with his college courses and conducting research for a book project. These two years provided me with the knowledge and passion to begin my career in the arts.

However, this story begins when the American Folklife Center in Washington, D.C. called Texas Folklife for recommendations for their 2009 Homegrown Concert Series. At the top of my list was legendary guitarist and Texas native, Barbara Lynn. About a month later, we received another phone call to let us know that the American Folklife Center’s featured artist for Texas this year would be none other than Miss Barbara Lynn and that Texas Folklife would be the presenting organization. I was equally excited to be given the reigns to the production duties.

On September 21st, I traveled to Beaumont, photo by Sarah Rucker, 2009Texas to Ms. Lynn’s house to conduct an oral history interview.  I had the privilege of meeting Ms. Lynn, her mother, one of her daughters and one of her grandsons. Ms. Lynn welcomed me into her home and chatted with me for a couple hours. Her warm spirit was as amazing as her talent as a musician. I returned to Austin to continue preparations for our trip to D.C.

The staff of Texas Folklife was to meet Ms. Lynn and her band mates in D.C. for the program which was taking place on November 18. That morning we also were able to meet Thea Austen, Public Events Coordinator for the American Folklife Center, whom I’d talked on the phone with many times over the past few months. We were honored to met with some Texas political delagates and see the  U.S. Senate offices. We then traveled on to the Library of Congress where the Homegrown Concert would take place. The Coolidge Auditorium was beautiful and a crowd much larger than we expected for the D.C. lunch hour came out for Barbara Lynn’s show. Ms. Austen gave the band and our staff a private tour of the Library of Congress and on we went to prepare for Miss Lynn’s next show. As my co-workers and I entered the Kennedy Center to meet up with the band, I heard a docent say, “That must be her entourage.” What an honor!

The grandeur of the Kennedy Center added to the nervousness of speaking onstage, but I introduced “the Empress of Gulf Coast Soal” for the second time then joined the crowd of over 300 people to enjoy the show. As I sat back and listened to the songs I’d been listening to for years, I mentally checked off one of the things on my bucket list.

Posted on December 31, 2012, in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awesome !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

